Bumble & Bumble Sunday Shampoo

Standard

bumble&bumble.com

Bumble&bumble’s website states that this is a shampoo for those who need to get rid off product build-up but it may not be safe for colour treated hair or chemically treated hair although it is excellent for pre-chemical clarifying treatment. I was quite surprised by this as I dye my hair using semi-permanent colour and experienced no colour fading issues . But if you have colored hair you may want to proceed with caution. I was a bit worried that a shampoo that aims to remove all kinds of residue from my hair would also ‘remove’ the moisture from my hair leaving it tangled and straw like.

The first thing you notice is –yet again- the smell. The scent in the bottle seems quite strong – to me it smells like plastic peaches (no, not very pleasant). But once you mix it in your palms with a bit of water and massage it into your hair, the scent becomes surprisingly light and just peachy. The shampoo itself is of a light blue colour and has a thick gel-like texture. This could  be just me, but I seem to need quite a bit of the shampoo, maybe a palmful. But I have a thick, long hair and maybe I am not distributing it evenly enough. The shampoo foams up nicely and is easy to wash off. While it doesn’t leave my hair dry – big bonus- I definitely need conditioner afterwards as it does leave my hair a bit tangled.  The other big plus is that my scalp is not being irritated by this shampoo (no itchiness or dandruff)

The first time I didn’t notice any huge difference but after some uses my hair seems to absorb conditioner or other treatments (Phyto 9 or any hair oil) much better and doesn’t get flat so easily. I also feel much better about removing the calcium from my hair and scalp but who knows if I just didn’t fall victim to all the marketing claims ;).

The only drawback for me is the price, but since I use the shampoo only like every ten days it lasts up to 8 months easily.

Can be purchased at strawberrynet for $23, drugstore.com or for a salon location near you check the official website: Bumble&bumble.

Ingredients: Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PPG 2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Sage (Salvia officinalis) Extract, Rosemary (rosemarinus Officinalis) Extract, Isoceteth 20, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, Tetrasodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Fragrance, D&C Green 5, Ext D&C Violet 2 (CI 60730)

5 responses »

      • Yes, it protects the hair. I have fine hair which means I can’t use the oils because it will weigs my hair down. This lotions works great on my hair without weighing it down.

        • Thanks, sounds interesting. My hair is also fine though I have a ton of it. I use oils only for the ends so this sounds like a good idea for the rest of my locks.

          • I have a lot too, but yours probably looks fuller because of the locks where as mine is straight. Probably a good idea to use it for the rest of your hair to protect. My hair tends to get very shiny so I avoid oils plus I trim it every eight weeks.

Leave a Reply

