Testing, testing… Wild Cow by COWSHED

Standard

Since this is my first post I should probably say also something about what I expect, like and loathe about body care, natural or not-so-natural. I (naively) think I don’t want too much. I want my body lotion to be moisturizing, to smell good or not at all, to feel silky and the nourishing effect to last at least to the next shower. What I don’t like about body potions is them to be sticky, not absorbing well, unpleasantly smelly and irritating. Obviously, if a good body lotion doesn’t break the bank, it’s even better.

I don’t mind natural products but I also do not look for them. My only issue is the scent of many of them. I admit it, I prefer the fruity or clean scent of many drugstore or luxury body lotions, but my nose doesn’t cope well with the often earthy or herby scents of natural products. I find them pleasant enough as such but don’t feel like slathering it all over myself.

So having that in mind, I received COWSHED’s Wild Cow Invigorating Body Lotion as a present from a friend.

COWSHED prides itself in producing green body care, packed with essential oils, without parabens, no petrochemicals, no sulphates and no artificial colors. Wild Cow Body Lotion should leave your mind feeling revitalised with oils of lemongrass, ginger and rosemary (I’m already little scared!).

The good :

  • the lotion is on the thicker side, feels very soothing and nourishing without leaving oily or sticky residue
  • my winter-chapped hands felt soothed and I didn’t notice any irritation or burning feeling as with many other hand lotions and potions
  • the texture feels quite pampering and I love the fact that unlike most natural lines Cowshed doesn’t use alcohol as a thinner or preservative
  • the nourishing effect lasts until the next washing/shower

The slightly less good:

  • this is probably not going to be a huge surprise but the scent is a bit too much for me, the ginger is very strong, as is the lemongrass and the rosemary and the clove bud gives it a slightly bitter end. Also the scent is pretty long lasting, which is a good thing if you love it, otherwise you are looking at 1-2 hours of smelling like ginger tea and a spice rack😉

The verdict:

So, would I buy it again? No… BUT what I would do, is to look for a scent that is friendlier to a not-so-natural beauty addict since the lotion itself is very good. But for £18 for 300ml I cannot get past the scent.

PS: I’m impressed that Cowshed (again, unlike many natural lines) acknowledges the possibility of irritation from essential oils.

Ingredients:

Vitis vinifera (Grapeseed oil), Prunus amygdalus dulcis (Sweet almond) oil, Glycine soja (Soya) oil, Sesamum indicum (Sesame) oil, Calendula officinalis (Calendula) flower oil, Cannabis sativa (Hemp) seed oil, Vaccinium macrocarpan (Cranberry) seed oil, Thuja occidentalis (Cedarleaf), Citrus sinensis (Orange sweet), Rosemarinus officinalis (Rosemary), Citrus paradisi (Grapefruit), Cymbopogon flexuosus (Lemongrass), Citrus reticulata (Mandarin), Origanum majorana (Marjoram sweet), Coriandrum sativum (Coriander), Pimpinella anisum (Aniseed), Ocimum basillicum (Basil), Syzygium aromaticum (Clove bud), Zingiber officinalis (Ginger), Tagettes glandulifera (Tagette), Pimenta racemosa (Bay).
*Limonene, *Linalool, *Citral, *Geraniol, *Citronellol, *Eugenol.
*potential allergens from natural sources.Due to the high ratios of essential oils used in this product, a skin test is advisable. If you are pregnant or breast feeding, seek advice when using essential oils.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

