New additions: bath, body & hair

Standard

I’m not going to call it a haul since I have accumulated all these things within 6-7 weeks. It’s also not going to be a thorough review on each and every single item, just a quick scoop. And if you want to hear more about a particular product let me know in the comments and I can either reply to you there or if more of you will be interested about a particular item I’ll do a proper review.

I’m also sorry for the poor quality of pictures, my camera said goodbye yesterday and my iPhone is very old and sad. I already have an eye on a new camera so hopefully the quality is going to improve soon.

Kamill Hand & Nailcream Intensive

I needed a small size tube for my handbag and picked this one on a whim. It’s very moisturizing and while the scent is quite nice it’s way too strong for me. Won’t repurchase.

Amia Hand Balm

That tiny little jar is packed with super thick potion for dry and cracked hands. That is my hands, I’m afraid. The scent is ok and quite subtle (yay!). I don’t use it for the whole of my hands, only on my cuticles and it does a decent job. It’s very inexpensive (49 kc / $2) and it’s something I may get again.

Matrix Moisture Cure 2 Phase Treatment

The only reason I got this along with the shampoo was that it was discounted. I needed a shampoo and this came almost free. You shake the bottle and spray a few times onto your towel-dried hair. I was pleasantly surprised. The scent is very fresh and pleasant and it actually does make my hair soft and shiny. I din’t notice and weigh-down or build-up. I almost feel like I don’t need oils for my dry hair anymore.

Matrix Total Results Moisture Shampoo

While the spray was a pleasant and (almost) free surprise, the shampoo is … just blah. Smells good but can be too strong for some people. My favourite shampoo of all time is Joico Moisture recovery. I tell you why: you need the tiniest amount to wash your hair, smells great without being overpowering but mainly, makes my dry hair supple, shiny, touchable. Matrix Moisture shampoo on the other hand: you need much more product to do the job (even drugstore’s Elseve doesn’t require as much) and you need to do it twice. Makes your hair clean without stripping them, no squeaky clean feeling but I also didn’t feel like it did anything in the moisturizing departement. My last objection: it’s the second time I have a Matrix/Biolage shampoo and I always end up with quite some dandruff. And I am starting to think it’s not a coincidence.

AA Cosmetics Nature Spa Sensitive – Nourishing hand cream, Blueberry

This cream is for sensitive hands prone to allergy as it contains no allergens, parabens, color additives, mineral oil, alcohol, silicones, preservatives, etheric oils, propylene glycol and PEG. The list of non-existing ingredients is almost longer than the list of existing ones. Feels very soothing, once applied hands feel super nourished. Unfortunately on my super dry hands the effect doesn’t last too long. The scent is very fruity – blueberry, but not strong. Reminds me of a subtler version of The Body Shop body butter’s scents.

Garnier Body Intensive 7 Days Body Milk with Mango Oil for dry and rough skin

This is my favorite body moisturizer at this moment. I LOVE the scent, yes very fruity, definitely mango there. Feels light to the point I was skeptical how such a runny milk can do anything for my dry skin esp. for my dry shins. And yet, my skin is perfectly moisturized without any oiliness and stickiness. I’m on my third bottle.

Garnier Body Intensive 7 Days Hand Cream with Mango Oil for dry and rough skin

If I LOVE the body milk I logically have to love the hand cream as well…right? Well, not necessarily. While it’s of fluffy buttery  texture it also soaks in immediately, smells as great as the body milk, but leaves slightly sticky residue that dissipates  within 5 minutes on the skin but the residue stays on polished nails and feels very odd. I’ll use it up as it smells great but will not repurchase.

Dove Purely Pampering Nourishing Shower Gel – Coconut Milk with Jasmine Petals

I really like Dove shower creams and I almost never go for anything with coconut. Most coconut scents are too artificial and cloying to me. This one is on the edge, a bit more and I would have to write it off as well, but maybe adding the jasmine into the scent makes it very comforting scent. The texture and performance is the same as their Indulgence shower cream. A nice everyday shower gel.

Crabtree & Evelyn Goatmilk Comforting Body Wash

This was a gift from a dear friend, she couldn’t handle the scent. I’m not surprised. It’s definitely not what I imagine when you say “comforting”. This scent is very strong, in your face with a very good (or bad?) staying power. The scent reminds me of  old fashioned parfumery shops. It’s not unpleasant but it’s not for everyone. The best thing about this wash is how tiny amount you need to create super thick soothing foam. The original price for this wash is rather high for me but considering how very long this will last you it’s actually not that bad. It’s slightly moisturizing, no tightness afterwards.

Crabtree & Evelyn Goatmilk Comforting Body Lotion

This is more like gel-lotion that absorbs instantaneously, leaves no residue, the same scent that will last all day on your skin and clothes. I was worried my dry skin could feel tight and it just wouldn’t be enough. I was quite wrong. The moisturizing effect lasts easily to the next shower. While I love what both products do next time I may have a look at the Aloe Vera range for fresher scent.

Do you have any experience with any of these products or do you have any suggestion for my super dry hands? I would love to hear from you in the comments🙂

Leave a Reply

