Body butters

Standard

The love for body butters started, as for many, with Body shop body butters. They have a huge selection of body butters, the most popular butters are the fruity ones. I have tried them all and liked most of them. And then I moved onto other brands and these 3 body butters are the ones I currently have and use.

The Body Shop – Papaya Body Butter

This is one of The Body Shop’s (TBS) fruity body butters, comes in a 200ml jar and is recommended for normal skin. I find it nourishing enough even for my dry skin. I like that TBS’s butters melt in your palms and soak in your skin just enough to be nourishing and leave a thin coating on it to protect it from drying but I know some gals don’t like that feature. The skin doesn’t feel oily but there is definitely a thin veil – or that’s at least how I like to think of it. The scent is VERY fruity, I happen to love it but if you prefer more sophisticated fragrance to your body care you may have to look elsewhere as all of these THB’s butters smell very similar in their “frutiness”. If you need a butter for extra dry spots likes elbows, heels or even shins, you may want to try the olive or shea butter.

Ingredients: water, shea butter, papaya seed oil, cyclomethicon, glycerin, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, cetearyl alcohol, lanolin alcohol, phenoxyethanol, cocoa butter, methylparaben, propylparaben, xantan gum, fragrance, limonene, hexyl cinnamal, benzyl alcohol, disodium EDTA, tocopherol (vit.E), linadool, citronellol, citral, sodium hydroxide, methyl 2-octyonoote, orange 4

DM Balea – Body butter Cocoa (Kakao)

I usually don’t like chocolate scented anything, to me it always ends up smelling like plastic chocolate. Yet somehow this body butter has enough of the cocoa richness in it that I like it. I actually like it so much I’m on my third jar. Though I admit the price has something to do with it too. It also comes in a 200ml jar, exactly the same design as TBS’s  butters, it’s thicker than Papaya body butter (though not as thick as TBS’s Shea butter) and is super nourishing. I never actually tried it as a all-over moisturizer since I don’t want to smell like a chocolate cake but I love it for my winter parched feet, hands, elbows. It’s actually my favorite feet remedy.

Sells for 79Czk / €2,45

Ingredients: water, shea butter, cocoa butter, glycine soya oil, dimethicone, glycerine, glyceryl stearate, peg-100 stearate, lanolin alcohol, phenoxyethanol, cera alba (white bee wax), xantham gum, fragrance, tocopherol, disodium edta, methylparaben, citric acid, ethylparaben, butylparaben, ascorbyl palmitate, propylenparaben, hydrogenated palm glycerides citrate, CI 15510, CI 13015, CI15985, CI 28440

Baylis & Harding England – Nourishing Sugar Syrup & honey Body Butter

I am a fruity scent girl and yet this is another rather food-scented body butter that I own and like. It’s very lucky that I cannot detect any honey in the scent, I find honey scented products suffocating and too sweet. All I can smell is the sugar syrup in that cake frosting category yet with certain freshness that doesn’t make it cloying. Am I making any sense here?🙂 I would not describe this as a butter but rather a cream, very thick yet cream nonetheless as you can probably see on the picture swatch down below. It’s actually a bit more difficult to spread in comparison to the previous body butters, you have to work it. If you don’t like that slightly oily feeling you get with most body butters you may like this one. I have a suspicion that it being mineral oil based it’s not as “moisture oily” but rather “dry oily” if that makes any sense. I like it enough to use it up but the texture is not for me.

Ingredients: water, glyceryl stearate, mineral oil, honey, cetearyl alcohol, peg-20 stearate, phenoxyetanol, ethylhexylglycerin, cetereath-20, fragrance, imidazoldinyl urea, tetrasodium edta, tocopheryl acetate, peg-40 hydroganated cator oil, dipropylene glycol, trethanolamine, citral

From left: Balea Cocoa body butter, TBS Papaya, Baylis & Harding

I will definitely get another TBS body butter as I like their fruity scents and they work well for me yet when it comes to nourishment and moisture the DM Balea Cocoa body butter beats any I have used in a while.

4 responses »

  1. Great post!
    I really love Logona Oriental body butter, it has more cream consistency /maybe like baylis?/ and Alverde body butters are also good quality for their lower price. So far my absolute favourite was Laura Mercier body souffle but it´s so expensive.

Leave a Reply

