No more

Standard

Astor Pure Color Eye Shadow duo in 130 Cocoa Rose and Couture Eye Shadow in 130 Cappuccino 

I needed eye shadows and didn’t want to spend an arm or a leg. And yes, need is the appropriate word here since I literally ran out of all my faves and had just one eye shadow palette from Estee Lauder. Off I went to the drugstore and looked for matte neutrals with reasonable pigmentation. I swatched Astor and was impressed enough to bring them home. And ever since then I am wondering what was I thinking or whether the testers are of a better quality than the actual product. Because, my dear reader, these eye shadows are … well, non-existent basically. There is ZERO pigmentation in both the beige shades and very light in the grey shade. Also the texture feels silky to the touch but I have to dig my brush into them to get at least a wash of color. It’s a pity, esp. since I really like the grey shade once I manage to get some on my eyelids. There is no point describing the colors since you really don’t want to buy this. I am of a reasonably fair/light complexion yet both beige and golden/beige shade just aren’t visible on me. I cannot remember if I have ever had such bad eye shadows. No more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Matrix Total Results Moisture Shampoo

And I also cannot remember the last time I used such a vile potion on my hair. Seriously, the cheapest Tesco brand shampoo for a dollar cannot be as bad as this. And they have the cheek to call it moisturizing. I have tried my fair share of shampoos from drugstores to high end brands. I love All Soft and Smooth Down from Redken, I have tried every single shampoo from Kerastase (and liked most of them), for years I used L’Oreal Proffesionnel Liss Extreme or Absolut Repair, I have tried Aveda, Hamadi, Tigi, Fekkai, Phyto, Korres, L’Occitane, Biolage, Elseve (Elvive), Garnier, Dove… And trust me, this Matrix is the worst of them all – by far. You need a ton of it to do anything and you need to do it twice. It feels like I’m washing my hair in washing liquid. There is no added moisture and it’s not even for those who like the squeaky clean feeling. It feels just blah. The worst is yet to come though. It happened to me with Biolage so what was I expecting since it’s basically the same brand. I got dry itchy scalp and a ton of dandruff while using it. When I stopped and got Dove shampoo the dandruff and itchy scalp vanished after one use. The only slightly positive thing is that it smells quite nice. That’s it. No more.

5 responses »

  1. That’s interesting – I mean the thing with Matrix and Biolage. Recently, I’ve started using Biolage conditioner from the hydrating serie – and it’s perfect. Maybe even too much perfect. But I can’t say it doesn’t hydrate my hair and it makes them soft. No dry ends.

Leave a Reply

