Pedicure not only for summer

Standard

This post may turn into a hit (at least for those suffering with the same condition) or a total flop for being totally weird. Let me start by saying that ever since I entered my teenage years I not only developed acne but also rhino skin on my feet. There is, unfortunately, no better or gentler way to describe it. My heels were not only super dry but also cracking all-over. Not only it looked bad it was also pretty painful. I was also quite ashamed for having such ugly feet and could never wear sandals. Of course I tried to look after my feet. Once a week pedi-bath, soaked my feet and using some pretty sharp instruments scraped off the dead skin, slathered  a ton of moisturizer all over them and stuck them into socks. The next morning my feet looked almost normal…and a week later I couldn’t walk as the pain from cracked heels was  killing me. As I got older I discovered that for my kind of skin it is much better to do dry kind of pedicure. No soaking, no sharp instruments. I discovered so-called medicinal pedicure where the beautician uses diamond file like this one. But this pedicure can be rather expensive and once-a-month visit did not help as much as I needed. The next step was using simple foot file (with sandpaper) but using it dry, again no soaking. That I would do every week, in summer as often as needed (which could be every other day). And then my husband suggested using Dremel. Now some of you may think this post is getting weird. Surely, you cannot mean that hand rotary file…the one from hardware store?! Well, I’m afraid that is exactly the one. I can assure you that the look my husband got after making this suggestion wasn’t one of his favourite ones from me. But being desperate, I tried it. And as pathetic as it sounds, this inexpensive tool changed my life. Or my feet at least.

Unfortunately I don’t have a before picture (the one down there – for a brave person only – is taken off the web) I never thought of posting such a thing online and ever since I had Dremel I have (most of the time) baby smooth feet. They look so much better and there is no pain. I cannot be happier.

You can choose the roughness of the round file depending on your heel condition. You need to get a hang of this though. I know from my personal experience when going for a salon medicinal pedicure  that you can over-file your skin which really hurts. I also do my nails with this and the same applies. Once a pedicurist over-filed the top layer of my nails and I couldn’t touch them for weeks. First, I started with quick dabbing-like motions and figuring out how long I can stay on one spot. That also depends on the thickness and dryness of affected area. Obviously, the more callused skin the more you can work there and where your skin is healthy you can either skip completely or just dab lightly. My experience is that one can get rather excited with the..ehm…removing part and I think esp. at the beginning the less is better. After you clean the unwanted skin away, you just use some foot scrub to finish off, moisturizer and you are done. After a few weeks of doing so, you will get to the end of the cracked bits and you will actually end up with baby smooth feet. Trust me.

If you don’t suffer with terribly callused or dry cracking heels, you may not appreciate the pictures😉 but I know that when years ago I was searching for ANY cure for my “granny” feet I would appreciate them.

When it comes to feet moisturizers, balms, oils and what-nots I have tried many and I don’t see any difference in treating the cause and relieving the symptoms some are better and some worse but without removing the callused skin they will not help. Now I use anything that comes handy. BUT I do moisturize my feet at least twice a day, in summer when I wear sandals I do it more often.

Hope this post helps those who suffer from this unsightly and painful condition.

9 responses »

  1. Wow, it’s interesting idea! I believe it helps because my feet are pretty rough and dry, too (fortunately they don’t crack like yours). However, I don’t think I’m going to buy this tool but it reminds me of an electric manicure set that we have at home but no one uses it because it’s too sharp and intolerant for nails (strange, isn’t it? a manicure set not suitable for manicure…) – it has several metal files so the rougher ones could be great for my heels😀 I must prove it!
    Verunka

    • That could definitely work, I suggested similar idea to a friend who only has mildly dry heels and this would be a rather heavy tool for her. Let me know if it works🙂

  2. Omg, really? I wonder if it would work on my eczema. I suffer from eczema mainly on my palms which to me is the worst place do have it because it prevents you from so much.

    Since I stopped working I give myself my own manicures because I can’t afford to pay for them anymore and I soak my hand in warm water with honey before I start my manicure, and believe it or not it works before that my hands suffered from paying for manicures and ointments that only made it worst. My hands were so cracked and they would bleed, the itching was so bad at night and depressing.

    Great post very informative.

    • Ouch, that sounds very painful and uncomfortable. And I agree, hands must be the worst for such a condition. I am not sure I would use this tool on hands, they are quite sensitive and this tool is rather powerful. How about those small rotating files that Avon or others sell for a few dollars, they are meant to gently file nails or rough cuticles. I think Dremel is way too fast and would file your hands down way too much.

Leave a Reply

