Fish pedicure

Standard

First of all I have to thank my dear friend Terezka for this rather unusual experience. It was fun and thanks again for the treat!!! :-*

There are two kinds of fish that were given the name doctor fish (or nibble fish), they  originally come from Turkey where in their natural spas they “eat” human skin affected with psoriasis and avoid the healthy skin tissue. Apparently they don’t exactly eat it (or not all of it) and only behave this way when food supply is sparse or unpredictable. Also, I believe that in the US and UK fish spa is prohibited for safety reasons (apart from many, the main reason being that blood-borne infection can be spread via the tank water).

When we got there, we washed our feet, toweled them dry, put on disposable slippers and went to the tank where 30-50 fish swam around. You climb up and while sitting immerse your feet into the fish tank..and now then fun begins. The actual experience is very…well, tickly does not even begin to describe it. I think the name nibble fish is way more accurate since that is exactly what they do, they nibble on your feet. And that nibbling feels like low vibration and it tickles like hell. You get used to it – unless some clever fish decides to nibble up your leg. But at the beginning I couldn’t help to giggle like a silly teenager. Definitely not an experience to take on with ehm…full bladder😉 This procedure takes 30mins and by the end of it you just feel very mild vibrating-like sensation.

And now to the results: I had a pedicure prior to fish pedicure but my feet are always quite dry so I thought I could still benefit from all the nibbling. When I got home my feet were very dry as there was no massage or moisturizing afterwards. I know that my feet don’t like long soaking baths and the skin tends to crack after that. And that is exactly what happened. Nothing major but ended up with one painful crack. Without going into much detail, my cuticles benefit from this fishy treatment (pun intended) but overall I find this pedicure useful either for normal/slightly dry feet as a fun experience or for people who suffer with psoriasis.

I am not going to do this again but I’m really happy I could try it, it was (unusual) fun.

PS: I was quite glad that our fish tank had only  40 fish or so, I don’t think I would have coped with this😀

Have you tried it or would you?

14 responses »

  1. Nice experience! Thanks for this post😉
    I would probably be not able to stay calm – I’m pretty sure it would tickle me so much that I’d jump out of the water in the moment fish would touch me :DDD But seriously – I considered trying it once but then I read about some health restrictions that would endanger either me or the fish (can’t remember exactly but it had nothing to do with the blood infection, it was something different) that it discouraged me completely.😦 It’s nice to let the others to pamper you from time to time but both parties should benefit from it…
    Verunka

    • I actually think the fish had more fun than me but I know what you mean. I think if I had a serious skin condition like psoriasis and this would help I would justify doing this more often.

  2. I have heard about this, and been wanting to try it because of my eczema, but like you mentioned the it is prohibited in the US.

    I wonder if you will have improvements in a couple of weeks, if so you I would love to know.

    Omg, thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

